2017 District Farm Families of the Year Named – News – Greenwood Democrat – Arkansas News

2017 District Farm Families of the Year Named – News – Greenwood Democrat – Arkansas News

LITTLE ROCK – The eight district winners in the 70th annual Arkansas Farm Family of the Year Program have been selected, representing the diversity of Arkansas agriculture, the state’s largest industry. The district winners will now be judged to determine a state winner to be announced Dec. 7 at the Farm Family of the Year luncheon at the Wyndham Riverfront Hotel in North Little Rock.

The district winners are:

• Chris and Heather Tharp of Floral (Independence County) in the North Central District. The Tharps operate on 850 acres and have a cow-calf operation, broiler houses and a commercial litter service. They have five children, Colton, Ainsley, Kylie, Lily and Reese.

• Gittlein Farms of Maysville (Benton County) in the Northwest District. Garrett and Amanda have a custom haying and spraying service and they raise registered Black Angus cattle. Their operation also includes litter spreading and litter house cleanout. The Gittleins have two children, Mason and Colson.

• Eddie and Annette Wray of Trumann (Poinsett County) in the Northeast District. Eddie and Annette have a diversified crop operation, raising soybeans, cotton, rice and corn. They have four children, Jamie, Stephen, Ashley and James.

• Brandon and Jessica Chapman of Scott (Pulaski County) in the East Central District. The family raises soybeans, watermelon, tomatoes and cantaloupes. Their operation also includes an agritourism attraction called “Scott Pumpkin Patch.” The Chapmans have two children, Raylei and Brantley.

• Cedar Corner Farm of Stuttgart (North Arkansas County) in the Southeast District. Jason Smith and Chris Dickson are…

click here to read more.

Share this post

Post Comment