New travel ban adds North Korea, Venezuela – Arkansas News

New travel ban adds North Korea, Venezuela – Arkansas News

The Trump administration unveiled new restrictions on travel to the United States from eight countries, including North Korea and Venezuela, after its ban on visitors from six Muslim-majority countries expired Sunday.

The new restrictions, to be phased in, apply to foreign nationals from countries the administration says have refused to share information on terrorism, among other issues, with the U.S. government. It also applies to nations that haven’t taken necessary security precautions, administration officials said.

The expiring ban bars citizens of Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen who lack a “credible claim of a bona fide relationship with a person or entity in the United States” from entering the U.S.

Previously: Travel ban revisions may add countries, alter court challenge

More: Supreme Court: No expansion of travel ban’s refugee exemptions

The new order drops Sudan from the list — administration officials said it was cooperating with both monitoring security and sharing information with the U.S. government — but adds three new countries: Chad, North Korea and Venezuela.


The order, which places slightly different restrictions on each country, was detailed in a conference call late Sunday with reporters. Senior administration officials from several agencies, including the U.S. State Department and Department of Homeland Security (DHS) spoke on condition of anonymity.

“These restrictions are necessary and they are conditions-based, and not time-based,” one senior official said. “The goal is not to indefinitely block people from coming to our country. The goal is to protect Americans until foreign governments…

click here to read more.

Share this post

Post Comment